Persephone (or Proserpine)


I’ve always had a soft spot for Persephone… Even if she is most famous for literally being stolen and not much else. Maybe it’s because I identify with her. I guess I can empathize how she felt to a certain extent and… well, I love pomegranates too. šŸ™‚

It is strange how she, and especially her and Hades relationship, inspires so much art.Ā  I picked a few of my favorites from theĀ Bing image search below:

I personally like this one best… Perhaps because the artist depicted Persephone as happy… Sorry, I’m a sucker for happy endings. Also love the river and boat behind them… šŸ˜‰ Very mythologicallyĀ correct. And Cerberus!

This is a really pretty one of Persephone with a pomegranate… Not sure if that’s Hades or Demeter behind her.

This one is sad to me. Persephone is so innocent – obviously since she’s been protected by her mother her entire life. Hades is looming in the background, with the pomegranate, makes him seem as though he is plottingĀ  her fall into the Underworld.

Ā 

This one is a lot more violent, you can see Persephone being pulled down into a hole by lots of dark hands… Unpleasant.

I’m not quite sure what to think of this. Is she trying to get away or stay? Is he seducing or begging her?

This one is really pretty – it depicts Persephone and her mother separated by a pomegranate… Appropriate to say the least.

I’m not sure about this one either. Is she intrigued? scared?

Persephone looks so shocked and surprised in this one. Given, I would be to if I just ate pomegranate seeds that trapped me in the Underworld.

One response to “Persephone (or Proserpine)

  1. Nice collection of pics – thanks!

Leave a Reply

